The Languedoc-Roussillon region of France

France Airports Map
All the IATA approved airports in France
Maps and airlines Maps/France Airports.htm
Ruelmain cottages Home Page
Our sponsor
Ruelmain holiday cottages
France Canals Map
Frances' canals -
Maps, distances, walks Maps/France Canals Map.htm
Map of French Wines
French AOC Wines
maps Maps/French Wine Map.htm
Languedoc-Roussillon Region inset map
Click on any region to go there
Languedoc-Roussillon Region showing prefectures
Languedoc-Roussillon is one of the régions of France, composed of Languedoc, Roussillon (a part of ancient Catalonia) and part of Gevaudan.

Languedoc-Roussillon covers an area of 27,376 km² and contains the departments Aude, Gard, Hérault, Lozère and Pyrénées-Orientales.

It is the home of French plonk, much of which was traded through Montpellier. Indeed Montpellier has a kind of imperial splendour, symbolised by an aqueduct which was built by the town to supply it with water from the hills. This and the magnificent town itself were financed by the wine trade, whose merchants battened upon the Languedoc vignerons.

Nowaday some of the vignerons are Australian, and methods of vinifcation improved enormously, new wines establised (eg strong Australian type chardonnays) and new AOC granted (Fitou, etc.).

Languedoc-Roussillon contains the following departements (the chief town of each department - the prefecture) is shown in brackets:-
  • Aude (Carcassonne)
  • Gard (Nimes)
  • Herault (Montpellier)
  • Lozere (Mende)
  • Pyrenees-Orientales (Perpignan)
The population is 3.34% of France's total, on 5.05% of its area.
Centre Region Aquitaine Midi-Pyrenees Languedoc-Roussillon Provence Corsica Brittany Loire Poitou-Charentes Limousin Auvergne Rhone-Alpes Burgundy Franche-Comte Basse-Normandie Haute-Normandie Paris Picardie Nord-pas-de-Calais Champagne-Ardennes Lorraine Alsace